Re: [Saskbirds] Re: unsolicited emails
Subject: Re: [Saskbirds] Re: unsolicited emails
From: Gord'n'Maureen
Date: Mon, Feb 6, 2012, 8:09 PM
The problem is that it came from a Yahoo email address Kevin. So someone has access to the Saskbirds emailing list and has (more than likely) sent out these phishing (as opposed to virus/trojan) emails.
I remembered today that I also ran into this shortly after I joined the Regina_FreeCycle Yahoo group. So it’s someone accessing the groups somehow and using us all as targets.
Gord
From: Kevin
Sent: 06 February, 2012 7:59 AM
To: (email address filtered)
Subject: [Saskbirds] Re: unsolicited emails
Interesting. I wouldn't have thought it would have come from a message line as all messages are addressed to the same main email. For example your email below doesn't show as complete so a "search robot" couldn't pull it off. I would think it would have to be someone who wrote to you directly - possibly off the message line. That would make it easier to check.
Kevin
--- In mailto:Saskbirds%40yahoogroups.com, "Gord'n'Maureen" <bryth@...> wrote:
>
> Hello folks,
> It would seem that one of you has an infected (virus) computer. The reason I say this is that this morning, I received several unsolicited emails from a âyahoo.comâ email account I am not familiar with. I am very careful about who I receive emails from and can say (from many years of experience) that this is not some random chance. This definitely came from one of you.
> Therefore, I suggest you run virus scans on your computers to check things out and ensure you donât have a virus/trojan on board. One of the emails is from a âErvin Mirandaâ, another is from âGerard Wilsonâ and the subject line in both emails starts with âFWD:â.
> Thank you for your attention to this.
> Gord Bryson
>
> [Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
>
[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
\r