Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Crow mobbing a ...?

user

Default Crow mobbing a ...?

...Kestrel or Sparrowhawk? I know of a active S'Hawk nest roughly 50m away from where these shots were taken, although of what I saw, Kestrel sprang to mind immediately. The bird didhn't hover.

Beds, Uk.
    Attached Images Attached Images

Look especially at the shape of the wings and the length of the tail in your second and third photos. Is it an Accipiter or a Falco?

user

If you think I hadn't already tried.

I've leant my Collins to a freind, using my RSPB Pocket Guide.

The comparison in the book relies on colours, as it shows the Kestrel with a fanned tail and similar wings to the S'Hawk. The wings do look slightly more Sparrowhawk like, not pointy like a Kestrel is shown. But have never encountered a Sparrowhawk so wouldn't have any knowledge on the Bird. As for the Kestrel, I have a lot of experience with them, and my 1st thoughts were Kestrel. Falco wings are much 'pointier.'

My guide says a SAparrowawk can be seperated from Kestrel by 'shorter, blunter wings' but also says 'the difference is not so clear in soaring' which was what this bird was doing.

On the wing shape, they look blunter but it was soaring and with no previous Sparrowhawk experience, I'm putting my neck on the line and going with Sparrowhawk. I do know of a nest 50m from the site and that is pulling me away from Kestrel.

I WANT MY COLLINS!

user

Quote Originally Posted by Old World Warbler View Post

I've leant my Collins to a freind, using my RSPB Pocket Guide.

The comparison in the book relies on colours, as it shows the Kestrel with a fanned tail and similar wings to the S'Hawk. The wings do look slightly more Sparrowhawk like, not pointy like a Kestrel is shown. But have never encountered a Sparrowhawk so wouldn't have any knowledge on the Bird. As for the Kestrel, I have a lot of experience with them, and my 1st thoughts were Kestrel. Falco wings are much 'pointier.'