We have two free tickets for the 2012 season of RSPB seabird cruises going out from Bridlington. If any photographer would like to go on one of the cruises listed below and can write up a photo-journal for surfbirds, we would be delighted to offer a couple of free places. First come; first served. Email us at enquiries(at)surfbirds.com

We can't guarantee the weather but the trip leaders will do their best to make it enjoyable for you!

GANNET AND PUFFIN CRUISES

These fantastic cruises, for the novice and expert alike, sail around Flamborough Head and up to the RSPB Reserve at Bempton Cliffs to see the hundreds of thousands of seabirds that battle to raise their young on the 400ft high cliffs. These include the magnificent gannets (Bempton being the only mainland gannetry in the country), the colourful puffins, kittiwakes, razorbills, guillemots and fulmars. The boat gets as close as possible to the cliffs so passengers can almost touch the birds, and the sight, sound (especially the noisy kittiwakes!) and smell of the birds at such close quarters is an experience they will never forget.

These cruises will run on the following dates:

Saturday 5 May at 5.00pm

Saturday 12 May at 9.30am

Sunday 20 May at 4.30pm

Sunday 27 May at 9.30am

Sunday 3 June at 4.30pm

Saturday 9 June at 9.00am

Saturday 16 June at 4.00pm

Sunday 24 June at 9.00am

Saturday 30 June at 4.00pm

Sunday 8 July at 9.00am

Saturday 14 July at 4.00pm

Plus one FAMILY Gannet and Puffin cruises on:

Saturday 2 June at 4.00pm

This cruise will be shorter, at about 2.5 hours, and will be aimed specifically at children and their families, including children's quizzes, special commentary and family competitions.

SKUA AND SHEARWATER CRUISES

These cruises are to give passengers the chance to see migrating seabirds such as skuas, shearwaters, terns and other seabirds including auks and gulls as they start their flights south for the winter. The boat sails up to 3 miles out to sea and birds are tempted to fly close to the boat by the spreading of 'chum', an exciting mix of rotting fish that provides them with a free meal.

They will sail on:

Sunday 2 September at 10.45am

Saturday 8 September at 9.00am

Saturday 15 September at 9.00am

Sunday 23 September at 9.00am

Saturday 29 September at 3.30pm

Saturday 6 October at 9.00am


All the cruises take place aboard the Yorkshire Belle, which leaves from the North Pier at Bridlington Harbour and last about 3 hours for the Gannet and Puffin cruises, and up to 3 hours for the Skua and Shearwater cruises. Ticket prices have been kept the same as last year at 18.00 per adult, 9.00 per child (under 14) and 45.00 per family (2 adults, 2 children). Tickets for the family cruise are slightly less at 15.00 per adult, 7.50 per child and 37.50 per family.

Volunteer experts from the RSPB's East Yorkshire Local Group are on board each cruise to help everyone get more from their cruise experience by helping with bird identification and other information. They even have binoculars that can be borrowed.

For further details or to book a cruise please telephone Kim Smales on 01262 850959 or e-mail bempton.cruises@rspb.co.uk .

Further details can also be viewed on the RSPB website at either:

http://www.rspb.org.uk/datewithnatur...puffin-cruises for the gannet and puffins, or
http://www.rspb.org.uk/datewithnatur...d-skua-cruises for the skua and shearwaters.