Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Help needed in uploading digiphotos to Surfbirds forum

Question Help needed in uploading digiphotos to Surfbirds forum

Hello everybody.
    Help needed please.
    1st off,i know the basics of my laptop but i'm no expert,so please,not too technical with your replies !!!!!!!!!
    I've just begun digiscoping with my Kowa TSN 883 and Nikon P 6000.
    I would like to "upload" 3 or 4 photos "for constructive criticism" from other members.So far my photos are fairly mediocre.
    I've transferred all my "efforts" to my laptop.What do i do now ?
    I've tried to upload a couple of days ago but when i "submit" the photos,a message comes back saying "file size to large".
    What am i doing wrong ?.
    Call me "thick" if you like !!!!!!!!!!
    Do i have to convert my photos to a smaller format ? and if so,how do i go about it ?.
    Thanks in advance from a "not very computer literate" person !!!!!

user

The answer partly depends on which processing software you are using and what format you are shooting in? Without knowing that I can't be too specific.

The simple answer would be to resize your images (in Photoshop, etc) to 800 pixels maximum dimension and save as maximum quaility JPEGS. Always use the "save as" option and not the "save for web" - the latter reduces image quality and strips off the exif data (shooting information).

Do you have a photo-hosting website? If not, I would recommend setting up a free "Photobucket" (Google it) account. You can then upload your images to that and they will be automatically resized if you haven't already done it, and also assign the image a unique URL which you can paste into the "insert image" box in the toolbar of the message posting pane on this forum.

Sorry to be brief - in a rush to go out. Will explain further tomorrow if you haven't worked it out for yourself.

Colin