Thread: Swarovski 8.5 x 42 'Swarovision'

Thumbs up Swarovski 8.5 x 42 "Swarovision" Review

I recently purchased a pair of Swarovski 8.5 x 42 "Swarovision" binoculars, and after using them for the last two months or so, I felt compelled to write up a review, something I rarely do unless I am so impressed that I can't help myself!

I should briefly say that I am a bird biologist who spends about half the year watching birds for a living, and the other half for pleasure. I routinely spend weeks and months on end birding every day all day long, and so I feel that I get a lot of use out of my binos. Most of the work I do is in the North American arctic. The binos I used up until now were a pair of 8 x 43 Vortex Stokes DLS, which I was very happy with, but they suffered from some serious durability issues, and frankly they don't hold a candle to the new Swarovskis.

First off, right out of the box you can tell you are dealing with a quality product. The product is nicely packaged and comes with all kinds of nice extras

The binocular case that is included is the best I have ever seen. It is made of nice durable nylon and features a dust-proof zipper that wraps all around the outside. Inside there is a slot for the binos and a slot for whatever else separated by a hard divider which has a mesh pocket for lens cloths etc....
    Included are a high quality lens cloth and a nifty camera adaptor which I have not used, but I am sure some folks would really like (assuming it fits your digital camera). It might be a bit gimmicky, but it could also work quite well.

The neck strap is great, but I switched it for a harness right away